Well… I don’t know yet. After reading all five Cybils Middle Grade Fiction finalists I will soon  conference with the other judges to share thoughts and come to a group decision.9i4zRLj4T

I do know awards are subjective no matter if you’re talking about books or movies. You need to connect and have a memorable experience, but that is often not the same from one person to the next.

Besides this blog and the many others I frequent,  book awards are a great source for recommendations of children’s books to parents and their target audience – the kids.

What follows is a list my favorites along with recent results. They each have their own unique nomination process which explains the variety of titles. Books are linked to Amazon and the award title is linked to their website:

CHILDREN”S CHOICE BOOK AWARDS from the Children’s Book Council (Since 2008)

The only national book awards program where winners are selected by kids and teens of all ages. Categories are grades K-2, 3-4, 5-6 and teen. Announced in May of each year

The Grade 5-6 winner in 2015:

2015 Runner’s up:

Colorado Children Book Awards (Since 1975)

Books for children take time to get a lot buzz going. It’s often long after the adults read them that they reach a child’s library. That’s why with CCBA you see quite a few older titles. Nominated books can be from the past five years. Books previously nominated are not eligible, nor are Caldecott or Newbery books. Voting is done by children through libraries. Winners are announced in April of each year

2016 Nominees- Junior Category

The Coretta Scott King Book Award (Since 1970)

Given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

Cybils (Since 2006)

Anyone can nominate books published between Oct. 16 and Oct. 15 of the following year. You can register your selection each year from October 1-15. A panel of judges narrows the titles down to the winning entry announced on February 14. This year’s finalists in the Middle Grade Fiction Category:

Newbery Medal (Since 1922)

Given by the Association for Library Service to Children (a division of the American Library Association). The entire book must be submitted by Dec. 31st in each nominating year. Winners are announced in January.

Winners the past five years:

Pura Belpré Award (Since 1996)

The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. Recent winners:


In 1982, Scott O’Dell established The Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction. The annual award of $5,000 goes to an author for a meritorious book published in the previous year for children or young adults.  Scott O’Dell established this award to encourage other writers–particularly new authors–to focus on historical fiction. He hoped in this way to increase the interest of young readers in the historical background that has helped to shape their country and their world.

Winners the past five years:



About Greg Pattridge

Climbing another mountain...writing middle grade novels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to AND THE WINNER IS…

  1. no1librarian says:

    I know who I want to win!

  2. diegosdragon says:

    Me too, but I’m biased 🙂

  3. Thanks for such a great list, Greg, and thanks for your work on the Cybils.

  4. Yes, thank you for you work on the Cybils. Of the finalists, I have a favorite. But, my nomination didn’t make the second round you judged, but it’s won other awards. There were so many excellent books published this year.

Leave a Reply to no1librarian Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.