Cover Reveal for CROSSING THE LINE

I always smile at a cover reveal, knowing it’s the culmination of long hours writing the story that inspired the image. Today my smile is wider than ever as I’m proud to reveal the cover for Bibi Belford’s upcoming novel, CROSSING THE LINE. I just love it!

crossingtheline-cover

The story line adds to my anticipation:

For readers of The Lions of Little Rock and P. S. Be  Eleven, Crossing the Line is a story set around the 1919 Chicago race riots.

Billy’s family has fallen on hard times, what with his da hospitalized after the war and his ma barely scraping by. But it’s no hardship for him when there’s not enough money to pay the tuition for Nativity of Our Lord, the private Catholic school everyone in his neighborhood attends. Billy’s not big on education.

When he transfers to James Ward, a Chicago public school, he finds out there’s a big difference at public school: the kids aren’t all Irish—in fact, they aren’t even all white. It isn’t long before Billy’s found a new best friend in Foster, another fifth grader who also doesn’t have any money, loves baseball, and just happens to be black.

Billy is pretty sure skin color doesn’t matter. Not when he and Foster are just horsing around, playing baseball, working on the docks of the canal, and building a raft at their secret hideout on Bridgeport’s Bubbly Creek. But in the Red Summer of 1919, it does matter.

*****

Bibi Belford is the author of Canned and Crushed and its digital short story companion, “The Gift.” She graduated with a BA in English from Westmont College and completed her master’s in bilingual literacy at Northern Illinois University. She’s been a classroom teacher, reading teacher, and literacy coach in East Aurora, Illinois’s elementary schools.

*****

You can win an ARC of CROSSING THE LINE and a hardback copy of a new compelling non-fiction book I’ll be reviewing this Friday, SHACKLES FROM THE DEEP. Make a comment on either post through Feb. 13th and I’ll draw the winner on Valentine’s Day. Good Luck!

About Greg Pattridge

Climbing another mountain...writing middle grade novels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cover Reveal for CROSSING THE LINE

  1. danielle hammelef says:

    I love this above perspective of the cover. I really enjoy reading books about racism and trying to learn for myself why skin color matters and how people view each other. Thanks for the reveal today and the chance to win my own copy.

  2. Denise Pyra says:

    What a great cover. So many storylines surface. Looking forward to this one.

  3. allenbookclub says:

    Yay! What a great reveal! Thanks.

  4. Well this cover is a familiar scene. Love it! Totally reminds me of my childhood. The POV the image is drawn adds to the action feel, too.

  5. A. Narayanan says:

    So excited to read this book! It sounds likes such a great story.

  6. carol pokorny says:

    would love a copy of this book for my kids and grandkids!!! congrats, bibi belford!!!

  7. What a great cover! The perspective is perfect and it tells a story. You know I’m a sucker for historical fiction, so I have to throw my hat in the ring for this drawing. Thanks for the post and a chance to win.

  8. M García says:

    Amazing cover! Can’t wait to read Crossing the Line. Congratulations Bibi!!!

  9. Kasha Sanders says:

    Awesome cover… I can’t wait to read this book!! Congratulations Bibi 💖

Place your thoughts here with a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s