This new fantasy series has a familiar plot line of a boy discovering his magical abilities but with plenty of surprising twists. We first meet twelve-year-old Thomas Wildus as a loving son going to school and spending Thomas-Wildus-And-The-Book-Of-Sorrows-Main-File (10.10.18).jpgtime with his mom and a best friend, Enrique. Then he wanders into a book store and is given a copy of The Book Of Sorrows to read. His concept of who he is and the world around him begin to change.

Memories of his father’s final words seven years prior have renewed meaning… “Magic is real Thomas. No matter what happens, always remember that magic is real.” He’s never been able to find evidence of those words until now. It’s a journey that takes him from California to places around the globe, giving him insights into his own talents and heritage.

Told in third person, the storytelling stays close to Thomas. The focus is on good versus evil and figuring out which side is which. The page turning climax reveals the answer and will have you wanting to read more about Thomas. Thankfully, the wait won’t be long with the soon to be release of Thomas Wildus and the Wizard of Sumeria, book 2 in the series.

Until then you’ll find this story weaves our modern world perfectly with ancient magic, giving readers an adventurous ride with plenty of memorable characters.



Thomas thinks he’s an ordinary twelve year old, but when a strange little man with gold-flecked eyes gives him an ancient text called The Book of Sorrows, the world he knows is turned upside down. Suddenly he’s faced with a secret family legacy, powers he can hardly begin to understand, and an enemy bent on destroying everything he holds dear. The more he reads and discovers, the deeper the danger to himself and the people he loves. As the race to the final showdown unfolds, Thomas must turn to trusted friends and uncertain allies as he seeks to prevent destruction at an epic scale.



  1. Thomas shines as the main character. His interests are typical for a twelve year old, including a first crush. You’ll find yourself attached to this kid with his changing mood and emotions.
  2. Enrique makes a nice secondary character. His family situation is different from Thomas and their connection was one of those surprising twists.
  3. The different types of magic are a fun part of the story. I need the same ability, especially after I’ve forgotten something from home!
  4. Short excerpts of The Book of Sorrow, the book Thomas is asked to read, are shared The old English is not easy reading, but there is enough after thought thrown to help one’s comprehension. You haveth been warneth.
  5. The elements I look for in a fantasy read are all here: enduring characters, new worlds explored, and an exciting story.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR (From J.M. Bergen’s website)

Once upon a time, in a galaxy far far away…
J.M. Bergen graduated from the University of Arizona with a degree in creative writing, a minor in business, and a head full of dreams.Over the years his writing has appeared in a variety of publications under a variety of pen names, and though his favorite stories feature magic and adventure, his best-known work to date has been non-fiction. J.M.’s debut series originally started as a bedtime story for his oldest son. The story turned into a saga, and one book turned into five.

The first book in the series, Thomas Wildus and The Book of Sorrows, is scheduled for release in February 2019. The second, Thomas Wildus and The Wizard of Sumeria, will be published in late 2019, with the remainder of the series released before the end of 2021.

When J.M. isn’t working on the Thomas Wildus books, you can find him playing with his kids, napping, or dreaming up new adventures. If you ever meet him and can’t think of anything to talk about, you might ask about Herman the Shark, the Kai and Eli stories, or why Riddle-Master by Patricia McKillip is his all-time favorite book. Or maybe, just maybe, you’ll have questions and stories of your own (if you do, he’ll think that’s far more interesting).


I was given an ARC for an honest review.

Make a comment if you have time. I enjoy reading all of them. Click on the comment link below.

About Greg Pattridge

Climbing another mountain...always striving to reach the next peak in my life and career.
This entry was posted in Middle Grade Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.


  1. This sounds like an exciting series for teens, especially with great world building and interesting characters and a lot of action. The Book of Sorrow adds a different feel to this story. Excellent review!

  2. I enjoyed this MMGM post, Greg! Thanks for sharing this read with us. I really like the cover art–it’s very engaging.

  3. This sounds like a book I’d like. And the cover is really nice too.

  4. I’m not much of a fantasy reader, but my granddaughter is. I’m glad to know about this. Thanks for the post.

  5. Pingback: THOMAS WILDUS AND THE WIZARD OF SUMERIA | Always in the Middle…

Place your thoughts here with a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.